In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Don’t You Forget About Me.”

I am at the end of my life and as I lie in my death bed what do I see or remember? I remember a life that was good at some parts and hard at other parts just like everyone else.

I remember trying to stand tall as my mother, husband, and best friend all passed away in three months. I remember watching as our family started to shrink in number and that is when I would hear God’s voice say “Life goes on. I am here for you. Lean on me.”

I remember more bad things happening, but as those bad things were happening, I knew God was walking with me. He was holding my hand and showing me the way.

God is not a good luck God and only shows up when the good things are happening. God is there through it all—the bad as well as the good. He never leaves us or forsakes us. God is there for me and all His Children to lean on.

I am praying that I am leaving behind a life that I leaned on God, spread His love to people in need, and His peace to people that were worried about anything. I am leaving a life full of God’s riches and love behind to go to Heaven to see the family and friends that went before me.

Right before, I close my eyes I softly say “Here I come Shep and Shaya. Mostly, here I come God to meet you face to face.”

